Connect with us

Game News

How Legendary Items and Aspects Work in Diablo 4

Everything you need to know about the most powerful items in Diablo 4!




How Legendary Items and Aspects Work in Diablo 4

Legendary items are a mainstay of the Diablo series, so it’It’s ‘s no surprise that they’re returning in Diablo 4! After all, they’re some of the most powerful items, thanks to their unique traits.

However, they work somewhat differently in Diablo 4. This is mostly thanks to the new Legendary Essences and Aspects systems.

Let’s find out how they work in Diablo 4 and more!

Everything We Know About Legendary Items in Diablo 4

Everything We Know About Legendary Items in Diablo 4
Source: Blizzard Entertainment

Gear in Diablo 4 can have up to 5 affixes including 4 normal ones and 1 Legendary affix.

However, only Legendary Items can possess one of the Legendary affixes. This is what sets them apart, as these can provide game-changing powers!

There is also more than one tier of Legendary, as there are also Sacred and Ancestral Legendary items. These affixes have an orange color and a star next to them, signaling their special status.

Like in past Diablo games, finding the right gear with the right affix will be important to make your character shine.

Thankfully, a couple of new systems have been added to make this easier for players: Legendary Aspects and the Codex of Power.

Let’s go over how both of these systems work.

Extracting and Using Legendary Essences

Extracting and Using Legendary Essences
Source: Blizzard Entertainment

Legendary Essences can be obtained by bringing a Legendary Item to the Occultist.

You can then extract the item’s Legendary Affix as an Essence. Note that this will destroy the item, however.

The beauty of this system is that you can then apply it to any Rare or Legendary item! This will make it much easier to find a gear that has the right stats and the right affixes.

However, there are some limitations. Essences are divided into 5 classes depending on the type of equipment. These are as follows:

  • Offensive: Gloves, One-Handed Weapons, Two-Handed Weapons, Rings, Amulets.
  • Defensive: Headgear, Chest Pieces, Pants, Amulets.
  • Resource: Headgear, Ring, Amulets.
  • Utility: Headgear, Chest Pieces, Boots, Gloves, Amulets.
  • Mobility: Boots, Amulets.

This means you won’t be able to put Offensive Essences on Boots, for example.

Still, despite the limitation, this system should still be greatly helpful as it means you will rely less on random chance and luck to get the gear that you want!

The Codex of Power

The Codex of Power
Source: Wowhead

This is another very useful tool for customizing your gear. The Codex of Power holds a variety of Legendary Aspects that you can use at any time.

They function similarly to the essences. However, you don’t need to acquire Legendary Items and extract their Affixes.

Instead, you will unlock Legendary Aspects and Powers by completing specific dungeons.

The Codex of Power 1

There are still some limitations, as they are limited in the same category system as the essences. On top of that, not all Legendary Affixes will be available through this system. It will also only allow you to get the weakest level of each affix.

In the end, you will still need to get Legendary Essences if you want to get the strongest items in the game.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *