Connect with us


Diablo 4: Ultimate Skill Tree Guide

Let us tell you everything you need to know about skills!




Diablo 4 Ultimate Skill Tree Guide

The Skill Tree is one of the core systems of the Diablo series. Diablo 4’s skill tree grants you more ways to further customize your character to better fit your playstyle!

Getting accustomed to the Skill Tree will be absolutely vital to prepare your character when facing the hordes of Hell.

But how does this work in Diablo 4, exactly? Let’s take a look.

Everything You Need to Know About the Skill Tree in Diablo 4

Everything You Need to Know About the Skill Tree in Diablo 4
Source: Blizzard Entertainment

First, let’s cover how progression in Diablo 4 works.

The Skill Tree in Diablo 4 is intended to have more importance than in Diablo 3. The developers have stated that they don’t want character builds to be primarily ruled by gear anymore.

As such, the Skill Tree is more akin to Diablo 2’s but with more open-ended progression.

Progression is also meant to feel natural and intuitive so that you don’t have to rely on other players and external resources to help you build your character.

The progression is rather traditional, however. You will use Skill Points to unlock skills, both passive and active. Doing so opens up the ability to unlock nearby skill nodes.

How the Skill Tree is Structured

How the Skill Tree is Structured
Source: Blizzard Entertainment

The Skill Tree in Diablo 4 has a fairly unique structure as it’s divided into multiple clusters this time. These clusters open up as you spend Skill Points.

Let’s break down these clusters so you know what to expect:

  • Basic: unlocked from the start. Has the default weak attacks without cooldowns, nothing special.
  • Core: unlocks when you’ve spent 2 Skill Points. Contains stronger attacks, their upgrades, and a variety of passives.
  • Class Unique: there are 3 of these clusters. They unlock at 6, 11, and 16 Skill Points. These are a variety of class-defining skills and passives.
  • Ultimate Skills: unlocks at 23 points. Holds a variety of Ultimate active skills and passives to upgrade them. You can only pick one Ultimate Skill at a time, however!
  • Ultimate Passives: unlocks at 33 points. This cluster has some extremely strong passives. However, you can only pick one at a time, like with Ultimate Skills.

On top of this, you will be able to use a Keyword Search system to find specific skills. For example, you can search for skills that help apply or resist status effects.

The Respec System

How Respec Works
Source: Blizzard Entertainment

The respec system in Diablo 4 is simple. It allows you to reset and refund Skill Points at any time from within the Skill Tree itself.

However, it will cost Gold to do so! Costs will increase exponentially as you level up your character, which is meant to incentivize a sense of “build permanence” for your character.

Thankfully, costs are much cheaper at lower levels. This should allow for some experimentation early on, so take advantage of it while you can!

You also have two options for respec: a full reset of the skill tree or refunding only specific skills. Obviously, the full reset will be much more costly, but it will give you a blank slate to build around.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *